10th Wedding Anniversary

 

Andy and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary this past week. It has been a wonderful 10 years and I am so thankful that he is my husband. It is a great feeling to be married to your best friend and Andy is just that. He is an incredible husband and father.

Andy and I have known each other for a long time; since we were kids. I still remember the first time that I ever saw him – though I don’t remember it because of romantic reasons at all, since I was maybe 10 years old. I was visiting Central Elementary School to watch their yearly musical production. My neighbor was giving me a tour of the school and while we stood at the entrance to the library she pointed out some of her friends in the distance; one of them was Andy. He was in the library with some other cast members loudly goofing around. I can still picture it in my minds eye.

A few years later my family started attending the same church that Andy and his family attended. And while I still didn’t get to know Andy well at this point, my older brother Adam and him became good friends. Andy would spend time at our house often and quite frankly I couldn’t stand it. They were in middle school and early high school at this point and since I was the younger (likely annoying) sibling I was often teased and picked on.

Fast forward another few years; I am now 16 and Andy is nearly 18. We are both in high school youth group together and attend Ferndale High School together as well. My brother Adam is now off to college. I am noticing that Andy is funny, smart, hard working and a great friend. We have a lot of fun together and even though I am not supposed to be dating anyone I ask if I can go to grub tolo with Andy; my parents say, “With Andy? Of course!” or something along those lines. We went to the dance together; didn’t dance much – skipped out for some Ben and Jerry’s and drove around to look at houses before heading back to my house! (I really like going for drives to look at houses; still to this day) And the rest is history.

grub tolo.jpeg
Our first official date.
andy bacceloriate
Andy graduates. June 2002
jess graduation
Jess graduates. June 2004

Of course Andy still went away to Seattle University for 4 years of college before we were married and I had two years at Western under my belt by then as well.

noodle fight
Lake Pearrygin Youth Group Camping Trip. Summer 2002

I am so thankful for Andy every single day. I know that when I was 16 I was in love with him and that I dreamed about what our life would be like together; and I feel like I lucked out big time with this man! He is unbelievable to do life with and he makes my days so much easier. He is still so smart and so hardworking. He makes his family his number one priority every single day. He provides well for us. He sacrifices daily and never turns his nose up at a chore. Did you know he cooks dinner every night (he’s an amazing cook) and grocery shops each week and that is just the start of all that he does around here?!! He is genuinely concerned about my well being, my happiness and my struggles. He listens to me and cares for me. And he loves the Lord.

Of course we drive each other nuts sometimes and we get on each other’s nerves, but it never lasts long because he knows exactly how to make me laugh and how to talk it through with me. And we disagree about things from time to time, but he is easy to communicate with because he is patient and kind. He treats me as his partner in life and I love him for that. I may still not be able to tell when he is being sarcastic or serious; but that usually works to his advantage (“No, really, honestly…I was just kidding, I was just being sarcastic”). Uh huh..sure.

I love him so much and I am so thankful that he has been by my side through all of it; the good, the bad and the ugly.

Right now our life is busy with little kids and work and we don’t have as much time for one another in the same ways as we used to. We miss getting out to play, explore, hike, bike, and eat out together as much as we used to, so we continue to remind ourselves that this is a season; that there will be more time for that with our family as the kids grow a bit older and everyone settles into this new family that we’ve God’s created. And that someday our kids will be out of the house and how weird will that be, and surely we will miss it!? We are looking forward to the next 10 years of our life together, and the next 20 and 30 and 40 and so on.

I had a lot of fun and some sorrow too as I looked back on photos of our life together so far. We have many pictures of the fun we had together before kids and precious moments with our children too. There were lots of selfies too; who knew we were so hip back in the day before smart phones?

Here is a glimpse at just a few of the memories we’ve made in life together so far.

Facebook
Hiking the Scott Paul Trail
IMG_8116
Wedding Day July 2006

IMG_8114

 Tofino, BC for our Honeymoon

nates10
Our only piece of furniture when we got married!
Rocky_and_Gingersnap
Rocky and Gingersnap
Misc Photos 010
I tried snowboarding. Guess how many times I’ve been since? (Hint: ZERO)
IMG_2333
Backpacking the Washington Coast
IMG_3375
Climbing the Great Wall in 2008
IMG_4062
Snowshoeing (it is slower than snowboarding)
IMG_0754
Purchased our Home. Summer 2009

Yellowstone National Park. Summer 2009

IMG_1281
Biked across the Golden Gate Bridge. Summer 2009
IMG_1517
Hugged a Tree in Redwood National Forest. Summer 2009
IMG_2989
Visited Banff. Summer 2010
IMG_3416
Welcomed Eli into our Family. Summer 2011
IMG_0079
Welcomed Luke into our Family. Summer 2013
IMG_0178
Eli and Luke together at home.
IMG_0132
Luke and Momma
IMG_1409
Stop in Nehalem on our way to Winthrop to Camp

IMG_0229

IMG_1275
Andy and Lola
IMG_3102
The first photo we received of Callie. In our hearts we knew she was meant to be in our family. August 2015

IMG_0214

IMG_0562
In China to bring home Callie. May 2016

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4997

Looking through these photos it is so easy to see that we are immensely blessed in this life together! Thanks for following along.

 

2 thoughts on “10th Wedding Anniversary

Leave a Reply

